Learn True Meaning of Yoga, Different Types and Important Words Used In It

Learn True Meaning of Yoga, Different Types and Important Words Used In It

In this we will try to understand Yoga, Yoga Meaning, Yoga, Yoga Different Types and Yoga Important Words.

Yoga is an old discipline from India. It is both spiritual and physical. Yoga uses Breathing Techniques, Exercises and Meditation. It claims to improve health and happiness.

Meaning of Yoga

Derived from the Sanskrit word yuj, Yoga means union. It is a union of the individual consciousness or soul with the Universal Consciousness or Spirit. Yoga is a 5000-year-old Indian body of knowledge.

Though most of us think that yoga is as a physical exercise where people do ‘Asanas’ by twisting, turning or stretching our body, and breathe in the most complex ways. But these are brief or basic traits of this profound science of unfolding the infinite potentials of the human mind and soul. It portrays the complete essence of the Way of Life.

Patanjali was a pioneer of classical yoga. He defined yoga as “the cessation of the modification of the mind”. (stopping changing the mind).

A person doing yoga will move from one posture (called ‘Asana’) to another. For example, the “Sun-Salutation’ or Surya-namaskar’ as it is popularly contains 12 types of asanas, one after the other, and is said to help balance body and soul. The “sun-salutation” is popularly known as “Suryanamaskar”.

Some Important yoga words

  • Yama: Positive Rules of meditations
  • Niyama: Prohibitory Rules of meditations
  • Asanas”: physical postures and movements
  • Pranayama: Breathing techniques
  • Prtyahar: Controlling the mind
  • Dharana: Gazing inward
  • Dhyan: Meditation with object
  • Samadhi: Meditation without object
  • Dhyana: Meditations

Different Types of yoga

  • Rajayoga: Emphasizes the most on exercise
  • Hathayoga: Emphasizes the most on exercise of physical body.
  • Classification based on way of spiritual life.
  • Gyanyoga: It is a way of knowledge.
  • Karmayoga: It is a way of work.
  • Bhaktiyoga: It is a way of worship.
  • Classification based on a way of other things.
  • Swaryoga: Emphasizes the most on breathing.
  • Kriyayoga: Emphasizes the most on blending Karmayoga (Tapa), Gyanyoga (Swadhyay) and Bhaktiyoga (Ishwar Pranidhan).’


Leave a Comment